CAFMET Chairman's Message

"Together for the future"

The effects of globalization are numerous and force nations everywhere to strengthen their response to the vital needs of our planet. In today's constantly evolving world things change fast, sometimes too fast, with some countries ahead of others, since certain countries either have no support or lack the resources to react… often for political reasons. The organization of metrology in Africa raises the same issues encountered elsewhere, such as all that is happening due to the consequences of climatic change (notably with reference to COP 22 in Marrakech in 2016).

It is vital not to ignore such obvious facts as:

- the need once and for all to organize metrology formally on a regional or nationwide basis so as to meet the needs, in both laboratories and industry, for traceability to reference standards of measurement equipment. On the one hand, this is what guarantees the quality of products sold (both imported and exported) and ensures the quality of the measurement results used to declare conformity. On the other, it reduces costs and transit times linked to the management of the measurement equipment used in all activity sectors, bearing in mind that too many African industrial sectors and laboratories still call upon laboratories in other continents;

- the need to develop higher education training courses that deal with the subjects involved in metrology. Metrology demands specific scientific and technical skills and these need to be adapted to the specificities of the fields of Health, Environment, Agronomy, Renewable Energies, etc. CAFMET, which has grown into an internationally recognized network, is wholeheartedly for the dissemination of metrology culture, in particular on the African continent. CAFMET, through numerous activities that you can read about at www.cafmet.com, is fully committed to doing its bit to help the continent progress. The 8th International Metrology Conference organized by CAFMET is one illustration of this. 

Make the most of this unique plateform in Africa made available to you by CAFMET. We look forward to seeing you at CAFMET 2018!

Scientific Committee Chairman's Message :

From the first international congress of CAFMET (Casablanca 2006) the program covered the themes of promotion of communication between industry, research and development laboratories and government agencies in the field of metrology. 

Currently, the program is structured on three pillars: metrology, quality and innovation.

Regarding metrology, it meets the critical demands of the industrial competitiveness and of the metrology segments in energy, chemistry and biosciences. It promotes quality in its broad sense, focusing on quality, environment, product and people certification, social responsibility, and work systems.

 Concerning innovation, regional and national innovation programs and systems, and contributes to the development of practices, routines and metrics for their management. Broadly speaking, it explores science, technology and measurement interfaces, and unveils new borders in an emerging society, boosted by an entrepreneur spirit, based on knowledge and moved by creativity.

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Le message du président :

"Ensemble pour l'avenir"

Les effets de la mondialisation sont multiples et poussent tous les pays à renforcer leurs capacités à répondre aux besoins vitaux de notre planète. Dans ce monde en perpétuel mouvement, les choses bougent rapidement, parfois trop rapidement car certains pays ont de l’avance par rapport à d’autres, car certains pays ne sont pas aidés ou n’ont pas les moyens de réagir… et c’est parfois dû à des raisons politiques. L’organisation de la métrologie en Afrique fait également face à des problématiques qu’on rencontre par ailleurs comme ce qui se passe concernant les conséquences dues aux changements climatiques (en faisant référence à la COP 22 de Marrakech de 2016).

Ne passons pas à côté des choses qui sont pourtant évidentes, telles que :

– le fait de structurer une fois pour toute l’organisation de la métrologie à l’échelle d’une région ou d’un pays en fonction des besoins en raccordement des équipements de mesure des laboratoires et des industriels. Ceci d’une part afin de garantir la qualité des produits qui sont vendus (importés ou exportés) ou de s’assurer de la qualité des résultats des mesures qui sont établis et utilisés pour la déclaration d’une conformité. Et d’autre part pour diminuer les coûts et  les délais liés à la gestion des équipements de mesure utilisés dans tous les secteurs d’activité, car un trop grand nombre d’industriels et de laboratoires africains  continuent encore à faire appel à des organismes d’autres continents ;

– la nécessité de développer des formations en enseignement supérieur en intégrant des matières liées à la métrologie. La métrologie nécessite des compétences scientifiques et techniques particulières et celles-ci sont à adapter spécifiquement aux domaines de la Santé, de l’Environnement, de  l’Agronomie, des Energies Renouvelables, etc. Le CAFMET, qui est devenu un réseau international reconnu, répond présent quant à la diffusion de la culture métrologique notamment sur le continent africain. Le CAFMET, au travers de ces nombreuses activités qu’on vous laisse découvrir sur le site www.cafmet.com, a fait avancer le continent à sa manière. La 8ème conférence internationale de métrologie organisée par le CAFMET en est une illustration. 

Profitez-bien de cette plateforme unique en Afrique qui vous est offerte par le CAFMET. En vous souhaitant la bienvenue à CAFMET 2018 !

Message du président du Comité Scientifique :

Dès le premier congrès international de CAFMET (Casablanca 2006) le programme couvrait les thèmes de la promotion de la communication entre l’industrie, les laboratoires de recherche et de développement et les agences gouvernementales dans le domaine de la métrologie. 

Actuellement, le programme s’est étoffé et il est désormais structuré autour de trois piliers : la métrologie, la qualité et l’innovation.

En matière de métrologie, il répond aux exigences critiques des segments de la compétitivité industrielle et de la métrologie en énergie, chimie et biosciences. Il promeut la qualité dans son sens large, en mettant l’accent sur la qualité, l’environnement, la certification des produits et des personnes, la responsabilité sociale et les systèmes organisationnels.

 En matière d’innovation, le congrès traite des programmes et systèmes d’innovation régionaux et nationaux, et contribue au développement de pratiques, routines et métriques pour leur gestion. D’une manière générale, il explore les interfaces de la science, de la technologie et de la mesure, et dévoile de nouvelles frontières dans une société émergente, stimulée par un esprit d’entrepreneur basé sur la connaissance et mû par la créativité.

fr_FRFrench
en_GBEnglish fr_FRFrench